Medical Issues

Endometriosis, IC, Pelvic Floor Dysfunction… What?

For those of you who don’t know me, which is likely to be 99% of you (besides my friends and family if I choose to share this link) I have endometriosis. What is that you say? Well too put it in terms that we kind of understand, it’s when the lining of your uterus sheds (which normally gives you a period), mine sheds and chooses to float around. It attaches itself to the lining of surrounding organs such as my bladder, and just behind my uterus in general. It’s extremely painful, and something I have to live with until I hit menopause. So, I’ve got a long wait.

I had my second surgery in February which was successful in the fact that they were able to remove the endometriosis, but it did not relieve my pain whatsoever. After a few months of different birth controls with no pain relief, my doctor told me to get a second opinion. My mom had in the back of her mind “could this be pelvic floor dysfunction”? Again, what? I’ve never heard of that before in my life. So after seeing my second opinion doctor and seeing a urogynecologist I was diagnosed with IC (Interstitial Cystitis) and Pelvic Floor Dysfunction. IC is a “chronic painful bladder condition” and pelvic floor dysfunction just ties into it being that it means the muscles in my pelvic area are tight, which cause cause even more pain especially if there is tightness around my bladder. Okay, that’s the easiest way to explain it. I know, its super confusing.

Since I’ve been diagnosed with all of the above, I’ve been going to physical therapy to treat my pelvic floor dysfunction which at this point I’m not even sure if it’s working or not. My physical therapist thinks I have fibromyalgia, which is basically just pain (sometimes chronic pain) of your muscles.

I just want answers. It’s been since February now that I’ve been stuck with the constant pain and going back and forth between doctors. As of right now it looks like my next step is another surgery, in November, or early December after finals, because I want to make sure I have enough time to recover before I go back to school.

Let’s hope this surgery helps, its one I’ve had before plus another one through my urogynecologist. If any of the people who read this (I don’t know if people do) and you have any of the same issues, please reach out to me. It sucks to feel alone in situations like these. I feel like I don’t have anyone to relate to or really talk to about it because no one truly understands. If you stuck with me throughout this whole blog post, thank you. xo

Leave a Reply

