Life · Medical Issues

Ovarian Cysts

What sparks me to write about ovarian cysts today is the fact that unfortunately, I woke up screaming and crying because I simply turned the wrong way possibly rupturing a cyst(s). In my eyes, when this happens it’s an ovarian cyst. I don’t doubt that it was an ovarian cyst and the only thing that helps with pain is a heating pad usually. I have medicine from my procedure that I take every day just to mask the pain so hopefully that will help too.

I’ve talked about ovarian cysts before because as you may know if you’ve been following my blog for some time now, I have one too many medical problems. Ovarian cysts are 100% normal for every woman to get, we all get them, but they usually go away on their own. Apparently it’s just something that our body does. Like a womens body’s needs to do any more tricks, we deal with enough. The cysts and be physically on the ovary or within the ovary. Usually ovarian cysts are non-cancerous, though some can be. Cysts are filled with a fluid. This fluid can range to a clear fluid which ultimately does no harm, but they can also contain blood. If you have endometriosis (which is the lining of your uterus is found on the outside of your uterus instead of the inside when shedding it gives you a period) the cysts tend to be blood filled, when and if they rupture the blood can attach itself to your uterus, bladder, colon, basically your surrounding organs and leave small endometrial implants that cause extreme pain. 

Being that I’ve been diagnosed with endometriosis for about 9 years now, my cysts are likely blood filled in my opinion. When I have a period (which I normally don’t get because I use birth control continuously. I skip the last week of the pack and continue to onto the next as recommended by my doctor) I still have some bleeding as if it’s normal but I mostly have blood building itself up behind and around my ovaries, behind and around my uterus, etc which causes the immense pain because blood should not be freely flowing throughout your body.

The only way to go about removing the excess blood that is not supposed to be surrounding your organs is through surgery. It’s not a huge extensive surgery, mine have been through my belly button, two being through another small incision above my pubic bone and my most recent one I’ve had two incisions one on each side of my stomach. Can we say scarred filled body? Yes. But I’m trying too learn to live with it but days like today are days where I wish I could have a hysterectomy, or remove the ovary in which the most cysts grow on. I’ve recently came across a new form of surgery for endometriosis that I’m not hesitating to ask my gyn about when I see her in a week.

I turned 24 this year, I should be out making memories and enjoying my life but it’s extremely hard when things like this happen daily. Again, I’m registered for school in the fall. I cannot and will not let anything stop me. My mind is boggled with my life right now. Things don’t always work out, I understand that. But I’m praying that when I see my doctors within these next two weeks a change is made.

*I’m not a professional so what I am claiming may or may not be true, but from experience this is what has happened. If you feel like this is something that is happening to you speak to your doctor. It took me multiple doctors to finally diagnose me because endometriosis isn’t something people talk about daily, though I believe it’s beginning to effect more and more young women every single year.

**If you don’t feel comfortable talking to your doctor, I am more than willing to listen and try to give advice, again, I’m not a professional but sometimes it’s easier to talk to someone who is going through the same issue. You can leave a comment or email me at “kelcarblog@gmail.com”.
Until next time.xo

2 thoughts on “Ovarian Cysts

  1. Ooh, honey! I know how painful that can be. I thought I would pass out when one of my ovarian cysts burst a few years ago. I have endo also and recurrent ovarian cysts. They are not cool. I get so bloated it’s ridiculous and it hurts. Probably heading for my second lap this summer and likely removal of my ovaries. I’m really sad about it, but it seems like the best thing for my situation I guess. Sending you best wishes for feeling better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

