Dreams · Life

Do You Have Any Regrets?

What is your dream and what have you’ve done to obtain it, if you’re living it? If you’re not living your dream, why? Is it because there are road blocks that you feel as if you can’t get over? Those road blocks are there for a reason. They’re there to get you to fight for what you want and if you’re not willing to put up the fight, it’s what brings you down and makes you regret decisions you have made in life. 

I just watched a short video, I was so moved by this man’s words that I felt the need to write about it. Every word he proclaims is important, it’s important because it all “hits home”. Sometimes words have an impact on you that you can’t shake off. Which is why I’m writing this post right now. 

This man asks what is your dream? I’ve wrote about dreams before. My dreams. But right now in this moment I’m thinking about one in particular. My dream of becoming someone who writes for a living. Just in general, right now I don’t know if I want to be a journalist for a news station, or a magazine. I don’t know if I want to write my own book one day based on what I’ve learned within this short life of mine. I know I’ve learned a hell of a lot though even at the age of 24. That’s my dream, to write, I’m not living it the way I want to be living it because I’m currently at a road block. Ideally I would be in school, or at least working to save up to pay for school in the fall. That’s not reality for me right now considering what my life has been like for the past ten years. I’ve written about my medical struggles and I’m at my biggest one yet. It hurts me, it breaks my heart, it mentally kills me that I am not where I want to be and will not be where I want to be in the fall, which is at school. But do you know what? When I have this surgery, a surgery that I am completely terrified for, my life will begin. My life’s light is dull right now. When I recover from what will likely be one of the most helpful surgeries I’ve ever received, my light will come back. It will shine so bright, it will be blinding. All of my dreams can and will begin to pour out of me. I will be able to take on life as I’ve dreamt about taking it on.

I don’t wish to be elderly and asked what do you wish you could of done within your lifetime? Answering that I regret not taking chances, any chances or not living my actual dream. I think of being elderly and telling the stories I’ve lived through because I was brave enough to live the life I wanted. Stories of writing, traveling, falling in love, once, twice, maybe three times, getting married and living my life with my husband by my side who has the same mindset of living your dreams. My list can go on and on.

It’s a Sunday morning (where I am). I just watched a 5 minute video that changed my perspective on life. I know I can’t live my dreams now, but the words, I’ll always remember. I’ve saved it so I can go back. Maybe it will give you a powerful feeling as well. Linked below. 

Regrets

Leave a Reply

