Anxiety · Depression · Life · Stress

5 Things To Do When You’re Stressed

Stressed, depressed, annoyed, over everything? All of these things can help you stay at peace within yourself even if it’s only helps a little bit. I’ve found that doing at least one of these things daily in a routine naturally kept my anxiety under control. In no way am I saying that these things cure anxiety but I think they can be very helpful in the sense of trying to avoid panic/anxiety attacks because of feeling overwhelmed.

  1. Light a candle (or use a wax melter). It’s so nice to have your own little spot, that brings you a feeling of peace. For me it’s my room, it’s my safe place it’s the place I feel like I can relax completely. Being engulfed in your favorite scent is a good way to calm your nerves!
  2. Take a bath. I’ve loved baths for as long as I can remember but I haven’t been able to take any with it still being too soon after my surgery. Treat yourself to a bath bomb or a bath soak which will definitely make it even better or pick up your favorite book!
  3. Go for a walk. When you’re anxious sometimes all you want to do is curl up and try to deal with it. I’ve done that many times but I’ve found that if I feel anxious or upset in any way, going for a walk and taking in some deep breaths of fresh air lifts your spirits. I usually take the dog with me, pop in my headphones and listen to some music too.
  4. Write. It’s as simple as that. I didn’t realize how much I enjoyed writing until I started keeping a journal based on what I felt every day. You can write three sentences or three paragraphs, however much you feel comfortable with and by the end of letting your thoughts and feelings out, you’re able to breathe a little bit easier.
  5. Breathe. Again, so simple. When I seen a therapist for the first time, being told to “breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth” was something I wouldn’t acknowledge. I thought, how will my breathing help with my anxiety? But this little breathing technique helps tremendously with stress, anxiety, even anger. I use this technique on a daily basis. I’ve used it when I’ve been in pain and had to wait for it to pass, I’ve also used it when I cannot keep myself from crying. I tell everyone to do this now whenever they feel overwhelmed in a situation. I almost get annoyed with myself saying it, but at the end of the day this breathing pattern keeps your heart rate steady which helps in times of being overwhelmed.

Times may be tough, but we’re tougher. You can accomplish anything you put your mind too no matter how long it may take. When you’ve completed it successfully you’ll wonder why you were even stressed out in the first place!

*There are great apps that help with stress and anxiety as well. Two of them being “Calm” and “Headspace”, I believe they’re both free in the app store!

2 thoughts on “5 Things To Do When You’re Stressed

Leave a Reply

